Crackberry Redux

I don’t have a Blackberry and never had one, but now that I have a smartphone I’m starting to understand why some BB users got so addicted.

I can’t believe I stayed up until 3am playing with my Android phone. There’s something iressistible about being online mobile, just browsing in bed. Before that any browsing was left behind at the desk, since you can’t really use a laptop comfortably in bed, so you can stop yourself, lie down and prepare to sleep. With a smartphone you can keep browsing or reading or e-mailing in bed.

I was mostly trying out browsers for my phone. The stock browser wasn’t very good, and Dolphin kept crashing. Even Dolphin Mini conked out after opening 3 tabs.

By far the most stable of the lot was Opera Mini. I have never had a single crash from Opera Mini, but it strips out a lot of features from the richer websites: it connects to the Opera server, which accesses what you want, strips it down and passes it on to you.

Opera Mobile was slow and clunky at first (my phone isn’t that powerful or needs more memory), but works OK once I turned on Opera Turbo Mode. Turbo Mode does much the same thing that Opera Mini does with web pages, giving you simplified content. On the other hand Opera Mobile Turbo Mode does page formatting, menus and buttons somewhat better than Opera Mini, so I guess it leaves a bit more for formatting and button response.

It still crashes on really heavy sites like Wired.com and WordPress, which use far too many widgets.

I really must keep a sense things and sleep when I’m supposed to. It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.

Re-reading The Temporal Void by Peter F. Hamilton on my phone. It is a bit verbose though, such a big book needs to be divided into more and smaller chapters.

So sometimes I opt for a lighter book: Shadow Games. It seems there’s a paranormal phenomenon called Shadow People. More commonly called Bogeymen by children, Shadow People seem to be taken seriously by some adults. There’s actually lots of articles online about them.

I’d never even heard of Shadow People. It’s my East Asian culture I guess, Shadow People seem to be an American trope. Oh we have plenty of invisible people but have well defined lore about them. I guess some Americans have discovered the invisible people don’t go away even when they stop believing and have to scramble to make up new legends.

Leave a Reply

