I used to spend a week just breathing

“Those were the broad days! Time was when I could walk and sing all day and hear no more than the echo of my own voice in the hollow hills. The woods were like the woods of Lothlorien, only thicker, stronger, younger. And the smell of the air! I used to spend a week just breathing.”
The Two Towers: “Treebeard,” p. 72

 

There’s been a really thick haze lately from those fires over in Sumatra. Not surprisingly I have been feeling quite weak the last few days, even my morning taichi and 8 brocade stretches have not done much good — although it might have been worse if I had gone without. Rain came yesterday, and there was a bit of wind. The haze has largely shifted away to the southern parts of Thailand, and I can see the sky for the first time in a week.

Still, I felt weak. Fallback: Standing Post Qigong.

I will have to start doing the Standing Post Qigong a bit more often. I know two of the poses, so I went online to look for some other poses… there was a lot of goo and dribble, as Salvor Hardin used to say about Lord Dorwin. Found one that suited me:

http://www.alquimiainterna.com/zhan-zhuang-equilibrio-fisico-mental-y-emocional/

The site’s in Spanish, but no matter. It’s the lovely drawing I found there that’s the main point.

ZHAN-ZHUANG-IMAGEN-OK

 

Standing post is the thing to do, when I feel weak and not really up to doing Eight Brocades and Tai Chi.

One thought on “I used to spend a week just breathing

  1. HI, I’m glad you are practicing the eight brocades. I call it Qi Flex. Very healthy exercises. It looks like it’s missing a few movements. The first movement should put both hands straight up to the air. You stretches your back while deeply inhale. It’s important to slowly inhale. That’s the only way to feel and active your body’s energy. — ZinFlex

Leave a Reply

