Form anxiety

strange

I don’t like filling out forms. It’s not the tedium. I don’t like giving away information about myself. And that’s what filling a form is all about. Now I am supposed to fill eight to ten pages about the goods and the juicy bits. It is unpleasant. I get anxiety just looking at a form.

Ugh!

 

Edit: There are people like me.

http://milkwoodmusings.blogspot.com/2009/11/form-phobia.html

I have now realized that I suffer from formophobia. That is the fear of forms, especially government forms, and most particularly income tax forms.

Amongst the many phobias on the phobialist.com a fear of forms is not listed – how strange, I can’t be the only person in the world with this phobia. I would have thought there would be millions of us poor sufferers out there. Eventually I tracked down a name and description on the urbandictionary site:

Formophobia/ Form Anxiety: n. Paralyzing fear, distress, and nervousness caused by the act of entering personal information into a pre-made template. Making simple tasks such as applying for jobs, school, etc. almost impossible for the affected. http://www.urbandictionary.com/

Now that describes pretty exactly how I feel about government forms. My fear has ratcheted up several notches after having to fill in a 27 page Basic Environmental Scoping Application form four times for four different roads. This must have been developed by someone suffering from severe formophilia – i.e. joy, elation, and sometimes sexual arousal caused by the act of entering personal information into a pre-made template. People affected often find themselves drawn to filling out papers for others. http://www.urbandictionary.com/

It’s probably tongue in cheek. Oh well, what’s the worst that can happen? They won’t turn me into Soylent.

Leave a Reply

